School Logo

Welcome to Sacred Heart Primary School

with children at its heart

Google Translate

Phase 6

What does Phase 6 look like?

In Phase 6, the focus is on learning spelling rules for word endings or suffixes.

They learn how words change when you add certain letters. There are 12 different suffixes taught...

The children are also expected to be able to read and write the 'next 200 commons words'.

-s   -es   -ing   -ed

-er   -est   -y   -en

-ful   -ly   -ment   -ness