School Logo

Welcome to Sacred Heart Primary School

with children at its heart

Google Translate


Pupils should be taught to:

  • Notice that animals, including humans, have offspring which grow into adults
  • Find out about and describe the basic needs of animals, including humans, for survival (water, food and air)
  • Describe the importance for humans of exercise, eating the right amounts of different types of food, and hygiene.

Key Language


Classification - Birds, fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and invertebrates

Classification - Carnivores, herbivores, omnivores  Stages of growth of many insects – egg, larva, pupa, adult

Names of some invertebrates – ladybirds, butterflies, dragonflies, etc

Names of some amphibians – smooth newt, common frog, toad

Stages of life –baby, toddler, child, teenager, adult

Life processes – growth, nutrition (feeding), respiration (breathing is part of this)

Hygiene – clean, wash, germs

Foods – healthy, grow, strong, energy